Paleo Parsnip Banana Muffins

Paleo Parsnip Banana Muffin

It was time.  It was time for a season of change, and a chance to do work for God.  I have poured myself into working at the kids’ school, and found it to be very rewarding!  I also discovered some things just in the past 2.5 months:

I am fulfilled.

I am blessed.  Being able to do God’s work and be near my kids at the same time… amazing!

I have fallen into eating routines I’m not proud of, and discipline is slowly slipping.  But I am not worried; as this is normal for people when change disrupts the routine.  Things will fall back into place accordingly.

I miss cooking and baking.  It is something I continue to do to feed our family, but experimenting with recipes has seemed like a burden… until now.

I’m thankful.  God has given me new vision on how hard it is to work, eat well, exercise, clean the home, be a parent, be a wife, and seek balance in life (and not in that order!) This insight has provided me a chance to see how I can help you even further to balance work and home and still eat well.

Paleo Parsnip Banana Muffins (Recipe slightly adapted from Paleo Newbie Recipes)

Personal thoughts:  This recipe below takes time. Prepare this on a Saturday or Sunday and freeze the muffins until ready to consume.  Muffins came out beautifully, and I was not disappointed! I completely recommend this recipe, and that it is sound.

Messy factor?  Medium Level. Lots of bowls, cups, measuring devices were used.  (But nothing out of the ordinary for me, and I can easily toss into the dishwasher.)

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice

Wet Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs – whisked
  • 2 bananas – mashed
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/3 cup raw honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Fold In:

  • 1 cup grated parsnips
  • ¼ cup chopped walnuts

Yields:

  • Makes 12-14 muffins

 

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin pan or use a silicone muffin tray. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients in another bowl. Mix together, and set aside. Using a food processor (grater attachment) grate up 2 parsnips (about 1 cup.) Fold in parsnips and walnuts. Pour batch into a large measuring cup to help with pouring into muffin tins. Bake for 22-25 minutes. Delightful!!

Paleo Parsnip Banana Muffin

Leave a Reply

