Whole Wheat Panko Crusted Coconut Shrimp

Whole-Wheat Panko Crusted Coconut Shrimp

This weekend I had time to reflect on a few things.  Quiet moments are so critical for the introvert in me; if I don’t have those times, stress builds and I am not at my best, nor can I be creative.  For instance, I haven’t been cooking or baking in a long time, and was reminded of that from a wonderful friend.  For that I’m grateful.  We foodies tend to worry if we’re taking too many photos of our food verses our family or friends or, ourselves (yikes, I don’t like selfies.)  Truth is, I do take a lot of pictures of my food when I start cooking up a storm. I can’t help it!  But, I don’t use the photos to boast, but rather as a journal and a reminder of something good I had cooked. It’s a journey for me when I adventure into the kitchen, just as a person takes a vacation, or a traveler showcases their experiences.  It serves as a wonderful memory of something I have tried but possibly may never make again.  Or maybe I will, it just depends on the level of ease of the recipe, or the how well the family approved of it.  I’m sure that is something you Moms and Dads can relate to.

Last night I had created a batch of coconut shrimp, a dish I have experimented with several times (sometimes gluten-free, and other times using traditional ingredients.)  I have only baked coconut shrimp verses to pan fry them just for the sake of health.  Truth is, the best way to cook this dish is to pan fry, as the flavor is fully enhanced, and there is just no comparison.  Scared?  Throw on an apron, and just do it!  It’s easy, but do use safety please – ain’t nobody got time for a grease fire.

Results?  Perfection.  I used whole-wheat flour, and whole-wheat panko in this recipe, and nobody noticed!  So if you want to make the traditional recipe a tiny (ever so tiny) bit healthier, switch to the whole-wheat. You won’t be disappointed!

Whole-Wheat Panko Crusted Coconut Shrimp (slightly adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne powder
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup Whole Wheat Panko bread crumbs
  • 1 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 pound raw large shrimp, peeled and deveined with tails attached
  • Coconut oil

Directions

  1. Take 3 medium bowls. Combine flour, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper into one bowl. Beat the eggs in the second bowl.  Combine the whole-wheat panko and coconut into the third bowl.
  2. Dip the shrimp into the flour, then dredge into the eggs, and finally press the shrimp into the coconut mix to adhere. Set the coated shrimp aside on a plate as you prepare the remaining shrimp.
  3. Add enough oil to cover the bottom of a large skillet on medium heat. I chose a pan with higher edges to ensure safety. Fry the coconut shrimp in batches to avoid crowding and thorough cooking. Flip the shrimp after 2 minutes and fry the other side for 2 minutes or until golden brown.
  4. Place the finished coconut shrimp on a plate lined with a paper towel as you fry the rest. Serve with your favorite sweet chili sauce or pineapple jelly.
Leave a Reply

